Sunday, January 13, 2013

Reincarnations of Gyalse Tenzin Rabgay that I know

Many believed the present Gyalse Truelku is the first reincarnation of 4th Desi Gyalse Tenzin Rabgay. Though I have no information regarding whole reincarnations, I would like to clarify that present Gyalse Truelku is not the first reincarnation of the most influential and powerful Desi. Infact, the present Gyalse Trulku  Jigme Tenzin Wangpo is the 8th incarnation. I would like to give few names of Gyalse incarnations as I know though I have neither done research nor been disciple of such figure.
Zhabdrung Ngawang Namgyel had two sons; one biological son and one spiritual son. The biological son was known as Gyalse Jampel Dorji while spiritual son was called Tenzin Rabgay. The prefix Gyalse or Prifix to Tenzin Rabgay was added since he was the spiritual heir.
Gyalse Jampel Dorji was born to Gokar Lhamo and Zhabdrung Ngawang Namgyel. On other hand, Gyalse Tenzin Rabgay was born to Damchoe Tenzin and Tshewang Tenzin in 1638 A.D at Tango. Damchoe Tenzin was 1st consort of Zhanbdrung while Tshewang Tenzin was direct descendant of Phajo Dugom Zhigpo. Even as a child, Zhabdrung allowed Tenzin Rabgay to sit on former’s throne which otherwise would be sacrilegious. 
In 1651 when Zhabdrung went into permanent retreat, Gyalse Tenzin Rabgay was fourteen years old. In 1656 when Chogyal Minjur Tenpa became third Desi of Bhutan, Tenzin Rabgay was installed as Lam Thripa or as Representative of Zhabdrung on the seat of Zhabdrung. The rank was equal to that of Desi himself. When Wangdue Phodrang Dzongpon Gedun Chophel (later 5th Desi) forced 3rd Desi to resign, Desi Tenzin Rabgay became the 4th Desi as requested by Central Monk Body and Civil officials in 1860 A.D.
He ruled till 1694. Probably he was the first Desi who was both authorized to look after both religious (throne holder) and temporal affairs of the country.
Zhabdrung incarnations used to be recognized in three manifestations; of mind, speech and body. Usually, the mind incarnation was recognized as main incarnation to be seated on the throne. However, in absence of mind reincarnation, others two were also installed as Zhabdrung.  When three incarnations were not there, either incarnation of Gyalse Tenzin Rabgay or Gyalse Jampel Dorji were installed as Lam Thripa or Throne holder or Gyalse. Following are the reincarnations I am aware of;
1)   Although there was an incarnation before Mipham Wangpo, he died before he could be installed. The first incarnation of Gyalse Tenzin Rabgay as I know was Gongsa Mipham Wangpo (1709-1738) and he was 10th Desi from 1729 A.D to 1736 A.D. He was brother of Gyalse Jigme Norbu, the 2nd reincarnation of Gyalse Jampel Dorji.
3)  Jigme Singye was recognized as second reincarnation of Mipham Wangpo. He was installed as reincarnation in 1764. He was born in 1742 A.D and died in 1789 A.D. He became 18th Desi from 1775-1788 A.D
4)  Thritrul Tsulthrim Dragpa as an incarnate of Jigme Singye was born in 1791 A.D and died in 1830 A.D. He was fourth reincarnation of Tenzin Rabgay. He became 26th Desi ruling the country from 1808 A.D to 1810 A.D.
5) The fourth reincarnation of Thritrul is Thinley Gyamtsho

This is just my reading notes. More update will come as I know…

No comments:

Post a Comment